Beautiful Butterfly

CAS-ual Friday STICKER / HeroArts 2011B by kimba7669
Hey there all….

What’s happening?  How are you all doing?  How’s your Thursday going?  Here in NYC the weather is perfect – hanging out with the kids, eating stuff that I shouldn’t be eating ( yesterday I had 3 Mr. Softee Ice Cream Cones…..w/Sprinkles.  It’s the kids fault! Lol! ) In a couple of days, the heat wave will be back and I will sweat it all out – I know..I know…I gotta tell myself something right!

Okay, let me get to the card.  One of the things that I have challenged myself is to enter more challenges.  I feel that when by entering more challenges, it helps me to grow as an artist and looking at the other talented people, it makes me up my game.  It helps me to get out of my comfort zone and try new techniques, color combinations, and styles.

Moxie Fab World is hosting a challenged – The Fanatical About Botanical Challenge :  This challenge is about the Botanical style which is characterized by realistic drawings or watercolors of flora  and fauna.  Now, one element about Botanicals is that the images are “LIFE LIKE” in that they are realistic looking – not cartoonist.  So, with that in mind, I created this card where this butterfly is the star of the show.  You may or may not know, but I am in love with butterflies.  That image is the image that I have the most stamps.  So, when I created this card, I was drawn to this butterfly.  Now, let me tell you that this butterfly is NOT a stamped image, nor is it a Digital image.  It’s a STICKER.  Yep…a sticker.  It’s from the Tim Holtz’s  Ideaology Collection.  It’s called SALVAGE STICKERS – Crowded Attic.  The texture and weight of this sticker is awesome in that it is a very sturdy cardstock.  I stuck the sticker on the cardstock and then cut around it.  I did some distressing using Tim Holtz’s Antique Linen ink as well as added the doily for a bit of softness.  This is typically not my style, but this challenge made me go outside my comfort zone.  I am really pleased with the results.

Okay peeps, sorry for the long post and thanks for hanging in there with me.  As always, have a great day and thanks for stopping by!

Kimberley 🙂

2 responses to “Beautiful Butterfly

  1. Beautifully done! the doily and colors are perfect for this butterfly!! AWESOME work, Kimberly!!

  2. Hey Kimberley! Thanks for linking this up to the Fanatical About Botanical challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

