EMBELLISH COLOR TRENDS Challenge

EMBELLISH SPRAY Challenge by kimba7669

Happy TGIF!!!!

I am sooo glad that it is the weekend. This week went by so slow for me and Friday couldn’t get here any sooner. Well, now that we are here, I have the best technique to share with you.

Embellish Magazine Color Trend Challenge was SPRAY or MIST your project. You could use paint, or ink, of glimmer mist, whatever product that would allow you to make splatter or spray marks within your design.

So, when I saw that as the theme, I thought of my Tim Holtz Alcohol Inks. I have not used these things in a long while, and this would be THE BEST opportunity for me to pull these bad boys out. Now, with the challenge, there are colors that must be in your design..HENCE Color Trends (TeeHee…I love that word “Hence”) After looking thru my alcohol inks, I tried to match the closest color to challenge colors – Stream….the perfect turquoise blue. I also used Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Broken China as the background on the white cardstock.

Okay, here’s what I did. After cutting the acetate to size (I got the acetate from the packaging of the HeroArts Clear Stamps-recycle recycle) and then dropped the alcohol ink on it. I held my hand up pretty high so that I could get that “spatter” effect and not the neat circles. Once I placed it against the white cardstock and the Envelope Pattern background, I just loved it! I think my new thing is going to be acetate and alcohol inks…LOL!!

I hid the adhesive behind the flowers. I used Glossy Accents for that. The flowers are from HeroArts Layered Flowers and I inked them up using Distress inks Shabby Shutters and Peeled Paint along the edge to create some depth and dimension. I keep the sentiment simple so as the background, alcohol inks and flowers were the stars of the show.

Well, I hope that I have inspired you to pull out your Alcohol Inks or to pick up a few and try them out. They really are alot of fun!

As always…thanks so much for stopping by and have a great day and an even greater weekend!

Kimberley 🙂

5 responses to “EMBELLISH COLOR TRENDS Challenge

  1. This card is STUNNING!! I am more and more impressed with your cards in this new blog of your, Kimberley! I am not just saying that!! It’s the truth!! Love this to bits!

  2. very cool technique and great way to recycle/upcycle packaging! May have to try that on a canvas since I just got some new TH alcohol inks!

  3. such a beautiful design. very pretty card!

  4. Ooh I love this technique, how fun!!! Fab card!

Leave a Reply

